The graduation story

Until yesterday afternoon, I was thinking of not attending my own graduation ceremony. I have reasonable answers to the whys.

For me, this graduation ceremony isn’t very special. It would have meant more to me if I’d liked college, the time spent there; the three years. It’s not a place where I could call it home. There are not many memorable moments associated with it. I had some awesome group of friends, but all these moments of glory happened outside of the college. The educational institution could never keep me satisfied, especially cause it did not live up to the standards I’d expected.

We were told lies, one after another. These charade words did not even affect them too much. These lies ranged from the total cost of the education to the quality of education. I do not question the qualification of the lecturers, but they certainly didn’t make good teachers. I felt cheated and honestly didn’t learn much from the institution. All I was doing was printing long pages of my assignment, studying for the exams and not surfacing stuff that would get me interested. For me, I achieved a degree of education, not knowledge.

I am not proud of my degree and not content even when I know that a degree in computing has good scoped for employment in the future. So I told my mom that I did not want to attend the ceremony of these people who are just capitalists and only drenching money for the last time, but I came to know of things left unsaid.

Mother seems to be more excited about me graduating than I was. For me, the degree is all but a piece of paper that makes life a little easier. For my mother, it means a little more. It means her son has completed the hurdles of the general system, at an age 10 years before she accomplished herself. It kind of left me in a sad state to see my mother infuriated of my hesitation to attend the ceremony. If I had felt connected to my college, friends and teachers like my alma mater, I would not have thought so, but the plot came to an amazing twist.

The next morning my mother’s sister came to me and said things that would instantly change the way I see education. We live in a society where we accept everyone’s effort to make a daily life. The cobbler fixes my shoe, the milkman brings milk for me and I make websites and systems for people to use in their personal life or business. We all live like different elements in nature co-existing with each other, always transforming, making bonds, combining, splitting up and creating life. Though I would like to revolt against the system, this ceremony was more than just about me.

My mother dreams of getting a photograph of me with that hat, scarf, and cloak with a big fat smile. She wants to hang a picture like everyone else in my family has at home. I never thought about it. It still isn’t something that I really want, but it’s something that would make my mother happy. If she’s happy, I’m happy. Kapish. My aunts and uncles have traveled all the way from Nepal to countries mostly like Australia and The United States of America, flying over an entire ocean to see their sons and daughters graduate while I was refusing to attend it. Like a warm reception, it’s just a pleasant goodbye.

To be honest, it can only be a glorious moment. Most (not all) of my friends who have graduated will be there. My parents will be there to see the ceremony and it is yet another milestone of my career, earning a bachelor’s degree B.Sc (Hons) in Computing at the age of 20. I’ll be seeing my friends parents as well and perhaps my mom and dad could meet some of their old friends and relatives too and share a laugh maybe.

Happiness is contagious. Share the laugh.

The part that made me sob while I saw my mom smile is yet to come. I know for a fact that my mother has an educational degree herself, but I have never seen a picture of her graduation. As my aunt recalls, it was my fault. At the time when my mom had her graduation ceremony, I was born. I was the reason my mother could not attend her graduation ceremony. I feel sad about it, but I know that my entry to this world meant more to her than missing out on celebrating her graduation. As for me, I’ve come to different conclusions.

The reason my eyes are wet is because this is not the first time that my mother has sacrificed something for me. She has sacrificed for me countless times. She has been there taking care of me ever since I was born and till this day, cooking pretty much every meal, washing clothes, paying the internet bills, getting me a laptop, a scooter, paying for my school fees, taking me to hospital after an accident, calling me every day when I haven’t reached home after sunset and this list is endless; you name it.

So I’ll try and be not so emotional about it and I have a brilliant idea. Mom and I are going to a photo concern this Saturday to click a photo of her in a gown with a certificate in her hand, 20 years after her graduation. I would like to see a picture of my mother who graduated as well. The interesting thing is that I’ll get to tell people that my mother and I wore the same gown while we graduated. This is so emotional for me, but I’m happy; almost exploding with emotion.

Oh, how wonderful life is, full of stories and surprises. It’s never too late to raise a smile. 🙂

Leave a Reply

