Drapetomania

If you ask me what else do I expect to do, I have answers. We are supposed to travel, not stay in one place, make a saving or start a family. If we were to stay in one place forever, we would have roots like plants do. At least, I know what I am going to go. I’m going to get so good at something, work my ass off for a year or two, then disappear. Where is the enlightenment if you don’t travel?

I’ve not wasted much time but not made the best of it either. There’s so much in the world to see. I feel it is possible to travel the world if you are creative enough to adapt to places and learn new things. We need the determination and will to do so. I’ve figured out what I want to do in life and all I need to do is make a plan and follow it. I recommend that you plan life the way I do. I don’t want you to become like one of those grown-ups who are married with two kids and stare at a screen all day long. In terms of Nepal, I have something to say about arranged marriage.

Arranged marriage is like a panic buy. You haven’t found your mate so you chose to follow the footsteps of your fathers and mothers before you to get married to almost a complete stranger, expect the marriage to work, have kids, establish a family and let the kids follow the same thing. This is where you go wrong. If you’ve not fallen in love, you’re missing the point mate. Go out there, meet someone who loves The Beatles as much as you do, find someone who suggests you good books, someone with whom you can shower in the rain. Do not hurry with starting a life. It’s a mistake I feel most people make. Go on an adventure.

It’s true that we need change. Most people in Nepal do not know how big and broad the world is. It is not limited to Australia and America. Have you ever thought about Africa and Europe maybe? Even Antartica!

People don’t even realise how big Nepal itself is. We know it’s one of the most beautiful countries in the world, but have you seen the beauty for yourself? A saying goes that if the hammer is the only tool you have, you will see all your problems as nails. If we keep sticking to the trend of getting an undergraduate degree, getting a job, a post graduate degree, getting promotions and find your life ending old without living, it’s your fault. It is hard, and it is hard for everyone. Not everyone can have the luxury of an easy life, but if you don’t dream, you won’t get anywhere.

This desire to run away never seems to fade away. I know I need it. The world is sick with politics, advertisements, contractors and manipulators, but you can choose to give a crap about them and really discover the purpose of your life. Life isn’t measured in how much money you’ve earned, how big a house you have, but in the magic of memories in photographs. It’s never too late to pack your bags and run away.

Take my advice. You need a metanoia.

Disappear completely.

Image by Arnaud Montagard @Flickr

Leave a Reply

