Thoughts meander

Okay, this is the first time I’ve ever written when I’m sick. Let me see how it goes.

So it’s been 2 days that I’ve been doing nothing but rolling on my bed. Theres the occasional high fever followed by calmness for a few hours once I’ve taken a pill. I don’t like taking pills but apparently I have to cause my parents don’t understand how much I distress pharmaceuticals. So when I got bored, I started watching one of the greatest TV series of all time, FRIENDS.

Now that I’m watching the whole series from start to finish for the third time, I see a little bit of relevance my with my life. Now I see how tough a character Rachel actually was. She has given up her fathers earnings to live an independent life. This is something I should be doing. I shouldn’t be laid back by waiting for something to happen. A lot has happened in recent times and with my maturity growing every passing day, there’s still something I need to go for.

I need to take the leap.

Life has been all but luxury till this point. I am someone who likes to motivate people. I like it when someone I have taught something does well. I like to teach. Yes, this is one of the things I love to do. I’ll tell you my dream job. I wanna travel the world and teach people how to code. I’m not an expert myself yet, but I know I’m learning relentlessly. I’m probably working 12 hours a day trying to learn new stuff. I don’t need perfection. I’ll be glad just to be an inspiration to people.

Anyway, thank you Rachel for reminding me that I need to work on my own and go into the wild and discover things for myself. I’ve been sitting at my brothers office just because my parents are forcing me to. I’m not ready for a big time job and I think it should never be that way. I need to clip the hierarchy for myself and do it on my own without a safety net.

I am learning at this place. I am progressing at a reasonable pace but I think I can be put in better use at a place where I actually belong. I like to code. I don’t love it. I love to write, play guitar, sing, teach, swim, football, FIFA and there’s a long list. Sooner or later I’ll be wandering the world with a backpack and my laptop, probably teaching Calligraphy or something somewhere in Asia. As for now, I need to absorb as much information as possible. It does not have to be computer. It can be anything from science to economics to sociology. It really doesn’t matter.

I just want you to know that until we don’t take the risk, we never fulfill our full potential. I’ve never had a hard time my doing anything my entire life and its time to adopt to a cruel world. And by the way, I’ll never forget this line from the first episodes of FRIENDS.

Welcome to the real world. It sucks. You’re gonna love it.

Image by Mike Beauregard @Flickr

Leave a Reply

