Another Brick in the Wall

I remember my first ever job not so fondly. I spent 8 hours everyday doing something I didn’t enjoy. In fact, I didn’t have the skills to work. What I had was a fancy degree affiliated to university in a island where it always rains.

But sometimes I had some serious work to do and I wouldn’t know how to do it. There used to be a kind bloke who would be my savior. The bloke was older than me and more experience. But here’s something I wanna tell you.

I once had to take leave when I was working because I had my college graduation. He once had to take a leave because he had exams. It made me think, what’s the point of education at all?

Questioning education is something I’ve done for a long time but it gets even clearer and clearer to me that education is a lot about making money. Aren’t the privileged ones who get the chance to gain education the not so privileged educated ones selling their kidneys to get one?

In fact, it restricts the receiver into a faculty when they could be doing anything they wanted. They help you specialize in one field but restrict you for everything other. With the ability to specialize, it creates something called the class division.

Doesn’t education play a significant part in dividing the people, making one work more prestigious and important than the other? Aren’t the ones who are specialized the lazy bums who sit around, earn bucks from their skills and leave the basic necessity part to the other?

Why make someone feel inferior because they don’t have a degree? This happens whether you want it or not. They make the art and the others break their backs to turn their art into reality. Those who work so hard never really get the chance to learn or earn to enjoy it.

Let’s rethink education. I feel like I’d be much better without it. After all, I’ve loved learning but hated studying.

After all, what’s the point of studying when you don’t use the knowledge to help those who need it?

Leave a comment